University of Michigan professor recognised with PHA Award of Excellence

November 12, 2015

"Dr. McLaughlin was selected in recognition of the quality and broad scope of her service to the PH community. She has served as editor of Advances in Pulmonary Hypertension, PHA's medical journal and as Chair of PHA's Scientific Leadership Council which provides governance for all of the organization's medical activity.  She has generously provided her time to provide medical education for patients, physicians and allied health professionals and has led committees that are shaping a better future for patients living with this disease," said Rino Aldrighetti, president of PHA. "In recent years, patient morale and outlook have improved due to excellent patient care and the continued drive of the entire PAH community to bring better treatment options to patients. Dr. McLaughlin epitomizes this drive, and we thank her for her commitment to improving outcomes for patients with PAH."

Dr. McLaughlin was selected as this year's award recipient by the 2010 PHA Award Steering Committee, comprised of: Dr. McGoon; David Badesch, M.D., professor of medicine in the Divisions of Pulmonary Sciences and Critical Care Medicine and Cardiology, and the clinical director of the Pulmonary Hypertension Center at the University of Colorado; Linda Carr, parent of a PH patient and past chair of PHA's Board of Trustees; Gregory Elliott, M.D., chairman, Department of Medicine, Intermountain Medical Center and professor of medicine at the University of Utah School of Medicine; Jack Stibbs, parent of a PH patient and past PHA board chair; and Joanne Sperando-Schmidt, PH patient and past PHA board member. Criteria in selecting the recipients included: proven resources required for excellence in PAH patient care, service to the PAH community, and consistent provision of cutting-edge options for patients living with PAH.

SOURCE Actelion Ltd; Pulmonary Hypertension Association